KIM WALLIN, CPA, CMA, CFM CHAIR

BRIAN DUFFRIN VICE CHAIR



704 W. NYE LANE CARSON CITY, NEVADA 89703 (775) 684-5469

PRESS RELEASE

Governor Lombardo Appoints John T. Moran III and Stan R. Olsen to Ethics Commission

CARSON CITY, NEVADA (July 19, 2023) – Governor Joe Lombardo has appointed John T. Moran III and Stan R. Olsen to the Nevada Commission on Ethics.

John T. Moran III, Esq.



Commissioner Moran is Senior Counsel at the law firm Clark Hill PLC where he represents private and government clients before various State and local government agencies. His experience encompasses the gaming industry, and he focuses his practice on gaming operations and regulatory matters, including those related to land-based gaming, internet gaming and the manufacture and distribution of gaming equipment.

Previously Commissioner Moran served as legal counsel for a host of leading gaming companies and recently served a term as a Regent for the Nevada System of Higher Education. He also previously served on the Nevada Commission on Ethics as a gubernatorial appointee and during his previous service to the Commission, served as its Chair.

Stan R. Olsen



Commissioner Olsen is a long-time public servant. He started a career in law enforcement with the Henderson Police Department in 1971 and retired from the Las Vegas Metropolitan Police Department in 2007. Olsen was appointed to the Nevada State Senate to serve during the 26th Special Session of the Nevada State Legislature in 2010. Most recently he has small business experience as the owner of Olsen Strategic Group and Rockridge Executive Services. In addition, Olsen returned to law enforcement service to help the Kauai Police Department as their Deputy Chief of Police including responsibilities over internal affairs and professional standards.

Both Commissioners were appointed effective July 1, 2023.

The Nevada Commission on Ethics is comprised of eight members. Four of the members are appointed by the Governor and four are appointed by the Legislative Commission. NRS 281A.200 sets requirements for the appointment of Commissioners including the following requirements:

- No more than four members may be members of the same political party
- No more than four members may be residents of the same county
- Commissioners are prohibited from holding another public office
- Commissioners are prohibited from being actively involved in the work of a political party or political campaign

Commissioners serve for four-year terms.

A full list of Commissioners can be found here: https://ethics.nv.gov/Commission/MembersAndStaff/

CONTACT Ross E. Armstrong Executive Director Contact: <u>rarmstrong@ethics.nv.gov</u>